Snapped!

That was the noise I remember in my head back on the 11th August 2011 when I slipped and fell out of my husband’s mack truck.  The last voice I heard was my husband saying “Hang on I will come around and help you out”  Damn, I wish I wasn’t so independent sometimes!

Really, it was my own fault and those funny things we call coincidences that aligned the planets for this to happen.

First off hubby called and said “I am coming through and have to drop a trailer off near Benalla, do you want to come?”

I looked at the clock and noted I had about 30 minutes before I finished work and also guiltily released I hadn’t been “riding shotgun” with him in the truck for a very long time.   So I said sure and can the dog come too?

40 minutes later we were all sitting happily in the truck on our way an hour from that we arrived at our destination.   In my attempt to get out in my own defense I was concentrating on the dog.  It’s a 15ft drop from the cabin of the truck and I didn’t want her jumping out like she does from the car…also I had my handbag which is a must have in any truck if you are a woman 🙂  but in the end I was just thinking of everything except where my right foot was going next.

Basically I dropped 15ft and landed straight legged on my right leg, I heard that bone crunching noise I will never forget and a million thoughts went through my head….My hip?  Ankle?  Tibia?  Fibia?   I just knew something was broken.  I screamed to my husband “I’ve broken something!  Get the dog!”

At that point I didn’t realise that my life as I knew it then was going to dramatically change.

Leave a Reply

