I’m all a Twitter

I'm a Twit

I have had a twitter account for AGES…..I think since 2008 but I never really used it because I just didn’t want to see the crap that people like Ashton Kutcher etc. had to say.

It the past 4 months I set out on an expedition of sorts to see what Twitter was all about and you know what it’s a real eye opener.  There are lots of REAL people out there.   Most are a lot more highbrow that those I meet on facebook who are basically simple folk who want to play games with you….the idea of twitter is you invade someone’s tweet and comment on something they say and hope they reply back.

After a while you get followers who come and go I guess based on if they like what you have to say.   I have met some truly wonderful people who have become part of my daily tweeting routine.  Please allow me to plug them for a moment because they deserve it.. People like  DaniG88,   thisisScoManPupsyWupsySocrates1975 and timotheospeter are just regular folk like me…our common bond being our love of The Project on TV so we tend to joke around with their resident twit…we have in fact bonded and I discovered two of them live less then 20kms from me…Go Figure right?

There is also the other side…the “Celebrity” tweeters.  Now I guess what you consider a celebrity varies in line with your personal taste….I found myself following many Australian comedy people, the sunrise people, the project people and various people I just found fun and interesting and who I thought had something to say or that I could say to them.

There are some truly wonderful Aussie out there who represent us….and a few Kiwis but more of that later :)  There are also quite a few international people who really appreciate that you are a “fan”

And guess what they are just real people like you and I…..

I have tweeted regularly with Melissa Hoyer, Wendy Harmer, Charlotte Dawson, Sam McMillan, Jules Schiller, Amanda Woods, Michael C Hall (Dexter) and yes even my idol Richard Gere replied to one of my tweets.

Let me say this about how unaffected these people are.

Charlotte Dawson remembered me having an accident and asked how I was doing and to let her know how things were going….I was truly touched as I am sure she has a lot more than me tweeting her

Wendy Harmer and I have often discussed articles on her Hoopla site which I am also now addicted to.

I tried to help Amanda Woods find a Christmas tree and Michael C Hall gave me a shoutout on my birthday…I felt kinda special

I also saw the power of the people.  When Kylie Sandilands made his comments about a female journo it was the power of twitter than had people contacting organisations to withdraw their sponsorship from his radio show…..and they did….it was the first time I had ever see the voice of the people actually achieving something in real time….I was and am proud of us for taking a stand.

So in nutshell this is what twitter is…it connects you to people you have things in common with, it allows you to peek inside the lives of people you admire, it gives you a voice against things you don’t want, it gives your creative brain as workout when being clever with the latest hashtag but most of all I think it helps us realise we are all the same…we are all just people….some are arseholes and some aren’t too bad….hell I even follow Shane Warne and you know what…he’s not a bad bloke and he loves Ms Elizabeth.

So if you think that you would like to embrace the twitterverse I highly recommend it….it gives you a voice…allows you an opinion and makes you understand the power we individuals as a group can have….so try it….I am @voodoo47 signing off

Leave a Reply

